Which wave did you enter by?


They all had some great excuses of why they could not attend a great banquets.Really the excuses were pretty lame.   The invitations went out for a great feast.  The servant went to remind them all that the party was soon to begin, but they begin to makes excuses of why they could not attend.  A new set of oxen, getting married, another guy bought a new field and had to go check it out.  The master was not happy about the rudeness of his friends that were invited, so he told the servant to go invite the beggars, the crippled, lame and blind, and even to go into the country and urge anyone to come that would like to. The guest list for the party was thrown open wide for anyone that wanted to come (all found in Luke 14).

I was part of the second or third wave of invitations to be part of the feast, the Kingdom of God.  Coming from a pretty broken home, and being spiritually crippled myself, I received the invitation.  At first I made some excuses, like the first wave of guests.  But it dawned on me, that I was being invited for me.  I had no famous family to get me in.  We did not have money, in fact I am sure we lived below the poverty line.  I did not know anyone important, but the Master’s servant came to me and asked me to attend.  His name was Steve.  The servant of the Master was sent to invite those that were broken by sin, blind by pride, crippled by wounds, and paralyzed with fear.  And he came to me with the invitation. Thankful today for my brother Steve and that he was a faithful servant to go out and invite all, as he was instructed.   I am now part of the Kingdom of God. The banquet is a metaphor right now, as being included in the Kingdom of Jesus, but there will be a real banquet one day. I will be there too. Sitting among the faithful and Jesus will be at the head of the table. I will be his guest and he will be the honored host.  There I will sit with the remnant of God’s people, because of Jesus inviting everyone. A punk from a little southern Michigan town, a nobody by the standards of this world, but loved by God, invited by the servant, and persuaded by the Holy Spirit, the entrance paid for by the blood of Jesus, and I will dine in the presence of the One, the great I AM, and the faithful servant who invited me to the greatest banquet of the ages (Revelation 19).  Will I see you seated with us?    Once I was the invited, now I am the inviter, the servant, seeking and searching anyone that would come, just as the servant before me.   The hurt, broken, confused, the angry, the blind, the wounded, and yes, the sinful.   So glad for Jesus and the invitation of Life. Don’t make excuses, just agree to be part of the greatest gathering of all.  More invitation to get out today. I must go now.

4 thoughts on “Which wave did you enter by?

  1. Pingback: Which wave did you enter by? | Nate Elarton'

  2. Awesome word again Pastor Nate, thanks for sharing Gods message & your personal testimony. I can only thank my momma for leading us to the Savior. I have strayed but always had a praying momma to get us back on that road to heaven.

  3. Thanks for the beautifull word, Nate I must have needed these tears of gratitude at this moment. Oh the places and roads my life would have traveled if not for the Lord Jesus.

Leave a Reply

